Crazy Bangkok Nights

When I got back to Bangkok, I checked into U-baan Guesthouse again, and it was like coming home. Joy greeted me and we caught up on what had gone on since the last time I was here. Then, Joy sent me up to my room with a sly smile. I knew something was definitely up but wasn’t sure what.

Later that day when I got ready for bed, I realized what that evil glimmer in Joy’s eyes was all about. It turned out that she took my joking request seriously and put me in a room with some “hot guys.” The first night there we had an American and a Spaniard in addition to myself and a girl from Germany. The second and third nights another American joined us so I shared the room with three dudes.

One thing all this backpacking has taught me is that if you plan to share accommodations in a co-ed situation, you should be ready for some funky smells emanating from the men in the room. The odors could be anything from sweaty clothes to toe jams. But, despite this, they always smell good fresh out of the shower and, if you’re lucky, they look good fresh out of the shower too. So, I guess you just take the good with the bad. Luckily, these guys were the exception to the rule and the room smelled fine.

On one of the nights, the entire hostel went out for drinks together at Khaosan Road. Yes, I promised myself I wouldn’t go back after my first visit with Marilyn because it definitely wasn’t my scene. But, since I was leaving Thailand soon I figured, what the hell?

We all walked to the main road and caught two cabs to Khaosan Road. From here, we walked along until some of the guys found a good deal on Chang beers. Buy two and get the third for free. In Thailand, beers are pretty cheap, and this made it a downright steal. I’m not normally one to drink beer. I don’t like the taste or the smell of it. But, Changs aren’t that bad, especially when the come in huge glasses that probably hold 750 ml.

After our drink, we headed down the road to another club. I ordered a strawberry daiquiri to get the beer taste out of my mouth and chatted with one of the American guys. He was interesting because he lived and studied in China and would be working there as soon as his work visa came through. While we talked, I realized I felt a bit tipsy. I hadn’t had anything to eat since breakfast and sculling nearly a liter of beer in a short period was not a good idea. But, the good thing about Thailand is that there’s street food everywhere. So, the American guy and I went to grab a bite. With some food in my stomach, I felt better.

While I was eating, the rest of the group finished up their drinks and met us. We debated what to do next and half of the group decided to go back to the hostel. The rest of us, my entire room and a Swiss guy, decided to head to another club. The club was pretty good – lots of locals mixed in with tourists. There was live music on stage that switched with each set. We found a table right up front and quickly got ourselves a drink.

Shortly after we arrived, the guys began to attract the attention of the local girls. The guys were all more than six feet tall and obviously Western. I’m pretty sure they fit the requirement of a sugar daddy, but I can’t confirm whether these girls were working or simply working it. I guess that’s the risk you run when you party in Bangkok.

Soon two girls shimmied their way into our group and we all danced together. It got a bit weird when one of the girls got a little too touchy feely with me. At some point, she wanted to dance with me more than the guys, which the guys didn’t mind all that much (of course). Like most guys, they just stood there and watched.

After a couple of hours, I was ready to head home so I hopped into a cab with the Swiss guy and was in bed an hour later. The other guys stayed at the club and didn’t make it home that night. I’m told they had a very nice night cap. I’m sure they did.

2 Comments

Filed under Nightlife, Thailand

2 responses to “Crazy Bangkok Nights

  1. A much different scene than Chiang Mai ~ and I had to smile at your writing of “he wanted to dance with me more than the guys, which the guys didn’t mind all that much” 🙂

  2. It turned out to be a really fun night even though I’m not much of a clubber. Told the guys they owed me for the free dance lol

Leave a Reply

