Jewelry Making at Studio Perak

Never in my life did I dream of making jewelry, but somehow I was convinced to give it a try at Studio Perak in Ubud. Now, I’m not the most creative person in the world and don’t have the most nimble fingers, but in the end I had a great time with Caroline and Reena.

When Caroline suggested taking a jewelry-making class, I was a bit skeptical about it. I don’t wear a lot of jewelry to begin with so why would I want to make a mediocre version? But we went to Studio Perak to check out the class and walked away with appointments for the next day.

When the day came, we met with our teacher, Ketut, and discovered that we were the only students he was teaching that day. About half an hour into it, a teenage girl arrived and got to work on her own. She had come to class as part of her home schooling curriculum and had her own projects to work on.

Ketut told us to design our piece of jewelry on paper before we began to craft it out of silver. He had so many different types of silver to use so you could really make whatever you wanted. As we got further along on our projects, the teacher would walk around and help us use the tools on hand. I had never used any of these things before and it was interesting to try them out.

I quickly learned that manual dexterity and mental creativity are not my strong suits. I found jewelry making a bit stressful, but I think Reena and Caroline loved it. At the end of class, we all walked away with new adornments. Caroline made a necklace and ring, Reena made a bracelet and I made a necklace. I had a fun time with the girls and liked sharing this experience with them, but I don’t think I’ll be taking up jewelry making or selling any of my creations on Etsy.

Leave a comment

Filed under Attraction, Indonesia

Leave a Reply

