Good Intentions and Unexpected Results

Traveling has taught me that most people around the world are good people. Whether it’s fellow travelers or interesting locals, most people care about you. Not everyone is out to kidnap and murder you Hostel-style.

But sometimes you get this weird feeling in your gut  that sets off alarm bells in your head. They might be small tingles of nervousness or flutters of unease, but they’re there. The experience you gain through travel helps you to distinguish what these feelings are and how you go ahead.

After leaving Auckland, I went to Melbourne and planned to stay at a friend’s house. The term friend should be taken lightly as this is what you call everyone you meet along your travels whether you truly know them or not. I was a bit apprehensive about it but convinced myself to push the boundaries of my comfort zone. After all, meeting people and experiencing how they live is what traveling is all about.

But after two days I decided to move to a hostel in the city. I just didn’t feel comfortable in the house or with the friends I had met there. In addition, many of the tours out of the city left extremely early and I couldn’t get to them from the suburbs without waking at an ungodly hour. And when it comes to sleep, I’m not one to give it up without a fight.

Even though I had a chance at an authentic Aussie experience, somehow it just didn’t suit me. In the end, it’s as simple as this: you have to do what’s right for you.

I’m sure someone else would have enjoyed the visit tremendously, but that someone just wasn’t me. Perhaps I’m a bit too country for the rock ‘n’ roll experience? Perhaps I’m a little too vanilla for Baskin-Robbins’ 31-flavors? In any case, it’s wise to be true to yourself and listen to those tingles and flutters because they’re there for a reason. Your body knows what’s good for it even if your mind doesn’t always want to acknowledge it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Australia, Personal, Travel

Leave a Reply

