No Whales but Plenty of Tattoos

Marilyn and I woke up exceptionally early the next morning to make it in time for our scheduled whale watching tour. Unfortunately for us, and everyone else awake at this ungodly hour, the seas were too rough for boats to go out. Rather than wait for a few hours hoping that the wind and waves died down, we decided to head for Christchurch to get our tattoos.

Marilyn already had a couple of tattoos done, but this would be my first tattoo. I decided to put it on my upper back so I could cover it up. I decided to go with a family crest as it would be stamped in the old days. It’s unique and meaningful to me. Marilyn chose the map of New Zealand, a place that has grown very dear to her heart, with a Maori design weaving throughout it. The tattoo artist created the design especially for her to merge specific meaningful things.

The process of getting tattooed wasn’t as painful as I imagined. I think it hurt the most when the needle crossed over my spine. It felt like the needle went deeper, but it’s more likely that the bone was closer to the surface. But, overall, it wasn’t too bad.

I don’t think I’d pay to get another tattoo done though. I guess I’m a one and done kinda girl. I’ve heard that it can be addictive and once you get your first, you’re just waiting to get your second, third, fourth, etc. But, to be honest, I’d rather use that money to jump out of a plane again and again and again.

Leave a comment

Filed under Attraction, New Zealand, Personal

Leave a Reply

