The Hunt is On

The hunt is on for a job in the city! Well, on the North Shore of the city, if I can help it.

After settling into my new digs in Crows Nest, I began my online job search for anything in hospitality. To be honest, I don’t really want to wait tables again. It was fine in New Zealand because the staff were mostly travelers and people were nice. But, I have a feeling customers in Sydney are a bit different that those we got in Rotorua.

During the first few days of living in Sydney, I sent out several resumes to restaurants in the area. I walked up and down the main drag in Crows Nest to see if any restaurants had posted ads on their windows. The few places that did need help wanted you to have a liquor license, which I didn’t have. I don’t¬†even have a tax ID yet since I haven’t worked a real paying job yet.

I was really hoping a Japanese restaurant I contacted while in Toowoomba would hire me. But when I went in for the interview, I was told they already filled the position. Still, I had a nice talk with the manager and he said he’d keep an eye out.

A few days later I had a trial at a different Japanese restaurant, which was about a 45 to 60 minutes away by foot. The place was pretty small and the wait staff had to do everything, including dressing dishes with various sauces, pouring all drinks and washing glasses. It didn’t seem very hygienic, that’s for sure. Most importantly, the people didn’t seem all that friendly or happy to be working there.

In the end, I passed on that job. Walking to and fro every night would get old pretty quick, and the buses weren’t much help in cutting back on the commute time. I’d just have to keep looking for something better.

Leave a comment

Filed under Australia, Employment

Leave a Reply

