My First Melbourne Cup

While I was in Toowoomba, I joined Yvonne for a Melbourne Cup celebration at one of the local lawn bowling clubs. It was my first Melbourne Cup . . . my first derby of any kind really . . . and such a fun event!

To say that my experience with horses and horse racing is limited is a gross understatement. When I was a kid, I rode a horse at the state fair. As an adult, I went on a trail ride out at Kualoa Ranch. Aaaand, that’s it.

But you don’t really need to know anything to take part in Melbourne Cup. At the event, there was friendly wagering if you wanted to try your luck. To help you, you could do a bit of reading as write-ups in the paper described all the horses, jockeys and owners. Many people selected their pics by using favorite numbers, jockeys or jersey colors. There’s even a random draw where you don’t need to choose anything at all.

The people throwing the event made sure to organize excellent entertainment for us. There were different skits put on by volunteers, a fashion show and even a hobby-horse race. There was also a best dressed contest among attendees! The lunch from the club was also very nice.

All in all, it was a great experience for me. Thanks to Yvonne and her friends!

Leave a comment

Filed under Australia, Culture

Leave a Reply

