Snug as a Bug in a Rug

Snuggling is a favorite pastime for all joeys, and I can’t say that I blame them. Once inside their pouches and cuddled up with me, they instantly get a bit drowsy and drift off to sleep. It’s funny to watch them struggle to stay awake. Their heads start nodding off; their eyes droop; and soon they’re fast asleep.

Charlie’s the most fun to watch, because he’s just so large in size compared to the wallabies. I sometimes forget that he’s still a baby like they are, especially when he barely fits into some of the pouches that totally consume the others.

When I’m with these babies, I can easily lose track of a few hours at a time. All the problems of the world seem so far away and out of reach. My only concerns are about their well-being and happiness.

Looking at life through their eyes makes you realize how simple life is and how complicated we all make it out to be. The simple joy of a snuggle and a midday nap can cure all ills. The trust that these animals have in me to let their guards down and sleep in my presence is humbling. Wouldn’t it be so much easier if we all had that kind of unquestionable trust in others?

Leave a comment

Filed under Australia, Nature, Volunteering

Leave a Reply

