My Life is Amazing

I have the most amazing life! Yes, I know it’s not nice to brag or boast about one’s good fortune, but seriously, wouldn’t you? Sometimes I can’t believe how lucky I am to live the dream when just a few years ago the dream seemed so far out of reach.

When I look outside and see dozens of wallabies enjoying their lives, I smile because, finally, I’m doing the same thing. It’s surreal to think that while I’m mixing joey formula and bottle feeding a dozen bubs, getting cuddles and kisses from them in the process, so many other people are slogging away at work behind a desk. Even more mind-blowing is that I was one of them!

Why would anyone do that when they could be doing this?

It’s a simple question with a simple answer, yet many people feel stuck in their lives and are unable to make a change. Sure, it takes guts to go against ideas of success and happiness that society has drilled into your head. It takes a bit of determination to ignore well-meaning friends and family who offer advice for your life. But, in the end, it’s all about you and what will make you happy.

I can’t look at these furry faces and believe anything I ever did at home was as important as being here with them now. As much as I’d like to believe that I’ve had an impact on the lives of many wallabies, in reality, they have had a greater impact on me. It’s changed my world view and is something I hope to keep with me forever.

2 Comments

Filed under Australia, Personal, Volunteering

2 responses to “My Life is Amazing

  1. Aleong

    You are living an amazing life. So, when are you coming home to Hawaii?

  2. I’m not sure yet. Haven’t planned it out that far yet 😉 Good to hear from you!!

Leave a Reply

