Hip Hop in Toronto

Wandering around a new city is always a surprising experience. You never know who you’ll see or what you’ll come across. As I explored Toronto’s CBD, I found some interesting murals/graffiti and an exhibition of hip hop and krumping near Eaton Centre.

I never expected to see a hip hop event right in the middle of the city in broad daylight. It was a large event that attracted people from all around despite the heat you could see leaving the concrete in waves. Using promotional vans, loud speakers and, of course, music, the event drew kids and adults of all ages. The event was vastly different from the show put on by b-boy buskers in Piccadilly Circus.

I stayed for a while watching the kids do their thing on stage. They even had a b-boy battle with crews from around the city challenging each other. Needless to say, they all needed a bit more practice. But, all teams were enthusiastically going for it and that’s pretty much all you can ask of them.

After a while, the battle between me and the sun came to an end when I sought out shelter at Eaton Centre. I wasted several hours window shopping and trying on clothes and shoes. Since this was my last stop, I could actually start buying things as long as they’d fit in my bag! What a momentous occasion! Too bad I wasn’t in a place a bit more exotic than Toronto.

When I finally left the mall, the hip hop event was still going hard and would probably continue into the night. I walked away with a few purchases, but I restrained myself from going all out as most of the items could be bought at home despite the sales and specials.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment

Filed under Canada, Culture

Leave a Reply

