Goodbyes in Glasgow

All good things must come to an end, and the day came when Natascha returned to the Netherlands. Our little reunion was brief but wonderful all the same. Before she caught her plane, we visited Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum in Glasgow, lunched at a nearby restaurant and did some window shopping at a mall near the airport.

The Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum is quite unique and took me by surprise. It houses a variety of art from different periods, artists and styles, including paintings, sculptures, ceramics, clothing and more. There’s also a section on the natural history of Scotland complete with interactive games for children and learning stations. Another part of the museum displays clothes, armor and weapons. Best of all, like many museums in the United Kingdom, admission is free.

At the mall, I found a great souvenir for my mom. It was a silver Celtic cross pendant and necklace set. I also bought a Celtic necklace and another necklace/earring set made by a Scottish designer for myself. They were pretty, on special and small enough to carry around so I was quite happy with the purchase.

Before long it was time to drop Natascha off at the airport for her flight back home. We were all sad to see her go but had many happy days in the future to which we could look forward. Even before she left, we were planning our next get-together (not surprisingly both Gill and Natascha voted for a reunion in Hawaii).

The following morning, Ross and Gill dropped me off at Buchanan Bus Station in Glasgow on their way to work so I could get my bus back to London. This coach ride wasn’t such a drama this time, and I made it back to London without a hitch. I walked the short distance from Victoria Coach Station to the Tube and was off to my hostel.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 Comments

Filed under Attraction, Scotland

3 responses to “Goodbyes in Glasgow

  1. It’ll be fabulous if you can all get together again in Hawaii.

  2. Gill n Meggy

    Loved that visit to the Kelvingrove. My dad used to take us loads when we were young. Will need to take our nephews there! Xxxx

  3. That would be wonderful but I suppose that would mean being in Hawaii long enough for them to visit 🙂

Leave a Reply

