Great Scots: Must-try Scottish Fare

Scottish cuisine isn’t what you’d call world-renowned, but it is still different from what I’m used to eating in Hawaii. So, when my lovely friends Gill and Ross suggested I try some Scottish fare, I jumped at the chance without hesitation.

When describing Scottish food, the word “healthy” isn’t a part of the vocabulary . . . and this made me all the happier to try some of it. I’m all about meat and fried foods, and apparently so are the Scots.

My first morning in Scotland, Gill fried up a square steak sausage and potato scone on a bun with some brown sauce. It was delicious! It reminded me of a Sausage McMuffin from McDonald’s but was way better. Until now, I’d never tried brown sauce, even though it’s available in Australia and New Zealand. It looks like barbecue sauce but isn’t as sweet or tangy. It went well with the meat.

To wash it all down, I had some of Ross’ favorite drink – Irn-Bru. Irn-Bru is a carbonated soft drink originally made in Falkirk, the town in which Ross and Gill lived. Its slogan is “Scotland’s other national drink” (after Scotch whiskey). I enjoyed the taste of Irn-Bru as it had a bit of a citrus flavor that was different from Fanta.

One dish I could not leave Scotland without trying was haggis. It’s one of Scotland’s traditional dishes, even though I wasn’t sure what it was. In my mind, haggis was a thick stew-type dish made of sheep innards and seasonings.

What I got was a “haggis supper” from a nearby fish and chip shop, and it was completely different from what I pictured. A haggis supper comes with deep-fried haggis and chips. And, in my book, there’s nothing better than deep-fried anything, so I was extremely happy about that.

Traditionally, haggis is sheep innards stuffed into a sheep’s stomach along with other tasty bits, such as onions, herbs and seasonings. At fast food joints like a fish and chip shop, the haggis is stuffed into sausage casings instead of the sheep’s stomach. When it’s deep fried, the haggis comes out looking like meatloaf.

The texture of the haggis was crunchy on the outside and moist on the inside. It was spiced and seasoned deliciously and I didn’t really detect any gamey taste. I really liked it, but I suppose that’s not saying much considering I’ve liked all the meats I’ve tried so far.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 Comments

Filed under Food, Scotland

2 responses to “Great Scots: Must-try Scottish Fare

  1. A. Sanj

    I loved haggis too. I thought it was really well seasoned.

  2. I’ll need to try deep-fried Mars bars on my next visit. Apparently you can get them in Glasgow 🙂

Leave a Reply

