Primrose Hill and Regent’s Park

London is a city full of surprises. Being such a large metropolis, I only really thought of it as a concrete jungle of history, commerce and technology. I never imagined there’d be so many parks all over the place, tiny and not-so-tiny oases within the big bad city where people could escape to enjoy nature.

Primrose Hill and Regent’s Park are two examples of large areas of land set aside and preserved for the public to enjoy. Apparently, the Primrose Hill residential area has housed and still houses many of the world’s eminent authors, actors, singers and other distinguished celebrities. I didn’t notice any while I was there, but I assume most British celebs (or American celebs who choose to live in London) are a lot less flamboyant than their Hollywood counterparts and wouldn’t move with such elaborate entourages in tow.

From atop Primrose Hill, you have a wonderful view of central London. Summers spent picnicking here must be amazing and full of sunshine and blue skies. The day I went was a bit dreary but I still managed to enjoy the view.

Directly south of the hill is Regent’s Park where the London Zoo, Open Air Theatre, London Central Mosque and other notable landmarks reside. As I crossed over from one park to the next, I passed lovely little houseboats bobbing along the canal.

Within the park there were many sport games in progress. Rugby, soccer and cricket seemed to be the most popular and players ranged from children to adults. I’m not sure if they belonged to leagues or were friends and families enjoying a day outside. Despite this, each game looked like intensely fought battles.

The longer I’m in London, the more I realize how important leisure time is to the culture here. Whether it’s a day at the park or a few pints after work, Londoners seem entirely in their environment when there are people around and good times to be had.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 Comments

Filed under Attraction, England

2 responses to “Primrose Hill and Regent’s Park

  1. KT

    Those houseboats look very interesting. Do they need to pay for a space? I never saw this stuff when I was in London. Thanks for keeping us up on your travels!

  2. I don’t really know if they have to pay, but I’d assume yes.

    You probably used a guidebook to get around? I haven’t used any throughout my travels lol Call it a sense of adventure or just plain laziness if you like, but it has turned out pretty well.

    However, I also miss a lot since I don’t even know where I am and what “famous” sites are around most of the time. There are pros and cons to this way of travel.

Leave a Reply

