In and Around Trafalgar Square

Trafalgar Square, one of the major tourist hubs in central London, is an interesting cross between a concrete jungle, buskers area and museum entrance. On a warm day, I would’ve liked to sit in the sun and people watch. However, the biting cold encouraged me to head into The National Gallery, where I spent hours soaking up the art and culture.

With more than 23,000 pieces, you will not be bored and are bound to find something you enjoy even if, like me, you’re not well-versed in the arts. Despite my lack of knowledge on the subject, I extremely enjoyed wandering through the galleries to explore all the paintings and artists.

What I discovered during my time in The National Gallery is how much I missed seeing all of this history and culture. During my travels, I have not spent much time in museums, preferring to stay on the move and enjoy the outdoors. I did not realize how much I missed the antiquity and reverence that comes with artifacts, artwork and history.

Even after spending hours roaming the halls of The National Gallery, I quickly went around the corner to the National Portrait Gallery to see what could be seen before they closed for the day. This gallery houses paintings and busts of famous Brits throughout history. It was a lot smaller than The National Gallery, and with this came a more intimate feeling about the place.

Having spent the entire day on my feet and walking, I was ready for a break and looking for a bite to eat. I found Little Frankie’s on Whitehall, which reminded me of a New York-style Italian diner. When I saw that they had free refills on soft drinks, I decided to give it a go. If there’s one thing that annoyed me the most during my travels, it was having to pay for each beverage I ordered. It’s extremely uncommon to offer free refills outside of the U.S. so when I find someplace that does it’s like striking gold!

I decided to go with something simple that couldn’t be mucked up – a burger, fries and a Coke. The portion was big and the burger was tasty. There were lunchtime deals that helped keep the cost down. I even treated myself to some dessert – a brownie sundae. It was delicious!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 Comments

Filed under Attraction, England, Food

4 responses to “In and Around Trafalgar Square

  1. Aunty Sanj

    Your observations brought back a lot of happy and funny memories for me when we were in the UK. Still one of my favorite countries and plan to go back soon, even tho we’ve been there twice.

  2. I could have spent ages in the musuems and felt rushed through it, even though I’m traveling alone and no one is there to hurry me up lol There’s just so much to see that you can’t possibly take it all in at once.

  3. Kris

    Mmmmm, hamburger and Sundae. Hope you smiled for all the security cameras. It is one of the things I don’t like. Otherwise, wonderful place to visit. Rich in history. Thanks.

  4. Yeah, avoided the whole fish ‘n’ chips stereotype and kept to the American stereotype of a burger.

Leave a Reply

