Visiting the Queen at Buckingham Palace

Like every tourist in London for the first time, I had to visit Buckingham Palace and see the changing of the guard. Unfortunately, this is easier said than done.

I started off across the way from the palace hoping to get the best view. However, it became quite clear to me that I’d never see anything from this distance so I hastily made my way around to the front of the gates. When I got there, there were already so many people lining the gates that I still had no hope of actually seeing the changing of the guards. I guess I should’ve gotten up earlier to stake out a spot.

I decided to stay put till the end of the ceremony as there was no point leaving now. Metal barricades, iron fences and people milling about waiting for something to happen kept me blocked in. Luckily, the sun was out and the air was crisp. I would’ve hated to be waiting in the rain on a gloomy day.

After about a half hour, some guards on horses marched by. Then a marching band strolled past. I almost tried to leave at this point thinking everything was done when I noticed the real guard change was happening on the inside of the fence.

Being short is never really beneficial in times like these so I had to squeeze my camera between people and hope I caught something decent. The camera would have to be my eyes as I couldn’t see anything going on.

In the end, the event was somewhat anticlimactic in my opinion. After all that waiting, the changing of the guard basically took a couple of minutes. Is that what all the hype is about?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

1 Comment

Filed under Attraction, England

One response to “Visiting the Queen at Buckingham Palace

  1. Aunty Sanj

    Yes, Dorian – it is just the changing of the guard, after all. LOL

Leave a Reply

