Good Food and Good Friends

I arrived back in KL around dawn. The bustling city was still peacefully quiet and not many people were around. I hopped on a bus back to the city, then caught a train home.

As the afternoon approached, the heat and humidity became too annoying to ignore. Voon and I headed to a nearby mall and had lunch at a Taiwanese restaurant. After lunch, we window-shopped and hit Starbuck’s for coffee and internet in A/C.

The following day I confirmed all my flight plans and Skyped home to update my family. I also met Voon’s roommate, Edwin, and we had a nice chat while I ate some dinner from KFC. Yup, KFC seems quite popular over here.

A little while later, Reena, Voon’s other roomy and friend who I met in New Zealand came over with her brother. I hadn’t seen Reena in ages so we stayed up till 2:30 a.m. to catch up on life.

Unfortunately, Voon had to work the following morning so it was only Reena, Edwin and I heading out for brunch. We went to an Indian place around the corner where I tried roti tissue, a thin and crispy crepe-like thing with butter and sugar on it. It came with mango chutney, coconut chutney and daal. Yuuuummy! It was like having dessert for breakfast.

With our bellies full, Edwin dropped Reena and I off at a mall in Midvalley. I picked up some clothes and we caught a movie together. It felt good doing something so normal again. I was still on vacation, but it felt like I was at home just hanging out with one of my girls.

To wrap the night up, we headed to Devi’s Corner and met Reena’s friend Prem. We had a nice cool drink (I had mango juice) and chatted before heading home for the night. All in all, it was a great day.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 Comments

Filed under Food, Malaysia

3 responses to “Good Food and Good Friends

  1. Howdy just wanted to give you a quick heads up.. The words in your content seem to be running off the screen in Firefox… I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with internet browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to let you know.. The design and style look great though! Hope you get the problem resolved soon. Cheers Pickering Roofing Pros, 1284 Kingston Rd., #131, Pickering, Ontario, L1V 1B7, Canada, 289-275-1555

  2. Thanks . . . although I don’t really know how to fix that lol

  3. Wow, this post is nice, my sister is analyzing such things, so I am going to tell her.

Leave a Reply

