Grocery Shopping in Japan

One of the amazing things about traveling is the unexpected surprises that you stumble upon in the most mundane places. The best example of this is the grocery store. This is a common place that’s found in every country, however, each time you walk into one, you never know what you’re gonna find.

In Japan, a grocery store can be a one-stop shop for anything you need. They have regular things, like produce and a meat and fish department, but they often have an in-house bakery and takeout section.

For instance, in this one, you could create your own boxed lunch or select a pre-made one. You could hand-pick your sushi or deep-fried shrimp (or deep-fried anything for that matter). There was a variety of fish any way you’d want it – fresh, filet, dried, etc. – and a vast section dedicated to curries.

All of their fruits and vegetables must’ve come from a giant’s garden because they were so massive. The colors and freshness amazed me as well. Everything looked bright and healthy and very appealing.

I also spent a great deal of time in the candy aisle admiring all their sweets, chocolate and even things I couldn’t recognize. There are different brands, flavors, concoctions and they all looked delicious. Even finding something to drink was a case study in patience as everything is in a foreign language but they all shout, “pick me, pick me.”

In the end, I spent at least an hour puttering around the place. I’m sure the workers must’ve thought I was trying to shoplift (although I doubt that people even do that in Japan). After all that browsing, I only walked away with lunch.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

1 Comment

Filed under Food, Japan

One response to “Grocery Shopping in Japan

  1. Thank you for this memory! I agree wholeheartedly about the delights of a Japanese grocery store. More Pocky that I ever imagined! If you are like me and dislike it when people include links, I apologize for including a link to my own post, but I only wanted to share the video embedded, that I took in a grocery store in Iwakuni. It’s pretty funny. http://crystaltrulove.wordpress.com/2012/07/27/tara-in-iwakuni-and-sanzoku-chicken-shack/

Leave a Reply

