First Cabin Experience at Haneda Airport

It was late in the evening when I finally touched down on Japanese soil. As this was my first time to Japan, I was doubtful of my navigational skills and concerned that I’d miss the last train into Tokyo or get lost trying to find my hostel at nearly midnight. To avoid any problems, I decided to spend the night at First Cabin at the Haneda Airport, then get the train into the city tomorrow.

First Cabin is similar to a capsule hotel but allows male and female guests (many capsule hotels are only for men). The hotel is cute and models itself after an airport and airplane. Each capsule or room accommodates one person and you have a choice between two different sizes of rooms. The capsules are lined up next to each other and separated into sections or gates. Men and women have their own gates.

Inside your cabin you’ll find a bed, pajamas, nightstand, hanger, slippers, body towel, face towel, toothbrush, toothpaste, television and headset. Shared bathrooms are down the hall, and again, men and women  have separate facilities. First Cabin provides everything you could possibly need. Inside the showers, you’ll find shampoo, conditioner and body soap. Along the vanities there are many beauty products for your pleasure, including make-up remover, lotions, hair dryers, curling irons, tissues and q-tips.

This was a great experience for me (I’ve wanted to try a capsule hotel and this is probably as close as I’ll get to one) and a good start to my Japanese adventure.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

10 Comments

Filed under Accommodation, Japan, Travel

10 responses to “First Cabin Experience at Haneda Airport

  1. kris

    Looking good D…snap! Anyway, the place looks like a neat idea, fully loaded and boy does it look clean. Hope it was reasonable. Would never sleep in one of those coffins for men. Probably would not even fit. What’s next?

  2. Oh my gosh, yes it is extremely clean there. The capsule hotel is mostly for businessmen who have missed the last train home and must spend the night in the city. Probably not the most comfortable accommodation available. Japan for the next three weeks 🙂

  3. Pat .

    That was a good idea I think – it looks fine for what you needed. Thanks for sharing the photos. Good luck with the rest of your Japanese experience.

  4. Yep, it definitely served its purpose nicely.

  5. Hi ! May I ask you how’s the shared bathroom in first cabin ? Is it the big shared bathroom japanese style ?

    I plan to stay here since my flight will arrive very late. But can’t find the description for the shared bathroom. 🙂 and currently their english website also not available..

    Thanks!

  6. The bathroom was really clean and in the Western style. I believe there were two shower stalls, a huge vanity area with mirrors and stools and a separate toilet area.

  7. Hi, how can I contact them? The link doesnt’ work :(. Thanks for telling us your experience, it’s really helpful

  8. Hey Roberto,

    Thanks for letting me know about the link. Looks like you have to go here now – http://first-cabin.jp/ – and select English so it’ll translate the website for you. They must’ve done away with the English-only site in favor of translating into multiple languages. I’ll update the link.

  9. thanks for sharing! did you have any problems getting to the check-in once the terminal closed? (i heard it closes by 10pm and I will be landing in the international terminal around 1030pm.)

  10. I can’t remember when my flight landed as this was a while ago, but I didn’t have a problem at check in. In fact, there were three people at reception, although only one spoke a bit of English. Maybe send an email to notify them of your arrival time?

Leave a Reply

