Heebie-jeebies over the Creepy Crawlies

The butterfly farm turned out to be more than advertised. In addition to the beautiful, it also showcased the creepy crawlies (ie. insects, amphibians and serpents). Luckily though, it also had some cute and cuddly (squirrels and bunnies) to balance it out.

When I was younger, I was a definite tomboy and would play in the dirt with the best of them. I chased down lizards and bugs like a dog chases its tail. I captured caterpillars and raised them to be graceful butterflies. But now, all these bugs just give me the heebie-jeebies. Maybe I can blame it on Australia, where many of the deadliest things are homegrown? Nah, it started before that. Maybe I’m just a scaredy cat?

It’s just that I don’t really like spiders and bugs, you know? They just . . . well, they just look funny – all spindly legs; millions of eyes watching you; weirdly shaped shells; and horns for goodness sake. Who has horns in this day and age? Only these weird bugs.

I kinda like snakes though (but perhaps that’s because we don’t have them in Hawaii and I’ve never really had to deal with them before so they’re kinda just an abstract idea to me). They’re cool and smooth to the touch and come in so many colors and patterns. And they don’t have any horns.

Anyway, back to the butterfly/bug farm . . . they had the bugs and things in glass cases. None of them were out on show-and-tell, like they do at some of these places. This was perfectly fine by me. But, even looking at them through the glass grossed me out. I mean, I didn’t show any outward signs of discomfort (I’m not neurotic about them) besides some “eww”s or “yuck”s under my breath, but no one could pay me enough to hold one in my hand, if you know what I mean.

Oddly though, they still fascinated me and I couldn’t turn away. I suppose this goes back to my childhood love of animals and wanting to be a veterinarian (which will never happen because I suck at math and science lol). Watching how their bodies worked, how they inched along or slithered by, was insanely cool. I got eyeball-to-eyeball with them and probably looked like a giant maniac through the glass.

Still, there will be no love lost the next time one of these creepy crawlies gets squashed (by someone other than me I might add). Nope, you won’t get any sympathy from me.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

1 Comment

Filed under Attraction, Malaysia, Nature, Travel

One response to “Heebie-jeebies over the Creepy Crawlies

  1. Chanin

    Cool creepy crawlers!

Leave a Reply

