Tian Tian Chicken Rice and Urban Singapore

If Maxwell Food Center’s Tian Tian Hainanese Chicken Rice is good enough for Anthony Bourdain, then it sure as hell is good enough for me. Some Singaporeans call chicken rice the national dish of choice, so how could I pass up the chance to try it at a place that Bourdain and his Travel Channel show, No Reservations, recommended?

Chicken rice is essentially boiled chicken served on white rice garnished with sliced cucumbers and accompanied by a chicken broth soup. It sounds simple but the flavors are extremely rich and oh so delicious. The pieces of chicken are succulent and the rice is a bit oily and drizzled with a sweet soy sauce. Together the chicken and rice are dynamite! The chicken broth soup was surprisingly flavorful and there is a side of chili sauce that you can put on anything.

After indulging in such a delightful lunch, I headed over to Singapore City Gallery. It seeks to educate the public about Singapore’s past, present and future urban planning and conservation efforts and demonstrates this through many informational boards, scale models of the city and videos. At first I was a bit skeptical about coming because how interesting could a museum on urban planning, engineering and architecture really be? But, in the end, I was happy I stopped by. The scale reproductions of the entire city were pretty amazing. Some of the more notable buildings were labeled so you really got a sense of where you were.

Afterward, I couldn’t keep from walking with my neck craned so that I could see all the different building designs and styles. It’s pretty cool how the old and new exist side by side in Singapore. Judging by all the construction activity around town, Singapore is quickly heading toward bigger, badder buildings. I just hope that they remember to conserve their cultural and historical structures. I would hate to see these beautiful places being destroyed in the name of development and progress.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 Comments

Filed under Attraction, Food, Singapore, Travel

2 responses to “Tian Tian Chicken Rice and Urban Singapore

  1. Kris

    Sorry, don’t see the rice thing. Looked bland to me, but guess you can never tell without trying. Progress is a tough one. Some really nice designs, but space must be a premium there. How’s real estate prices? Keep on posting your travels. Aloha.

  2. Yes, it may have looked bland, but the line of people in front of and behind me waiting to get a plate didn’t care. I guess this reconfirms that looks aren’t everything. I have no idea what the real estate market is like in Singapore, but I can only imagine that it’s on the rise.

Leave a Reply

