Hello Singapore

The flight from Auckland to Singapore was about 11 hours long and was certainly the longest flight on which I’ve been. Because I chose a budget airline, where everything is ala carte, I didn’t get any meals or entertainment. Luckily, I had some food stashed in my carry-on bag and it helped sustain me.

I spent most of my in-flight time reading, which is something I love doing, so the time passed pretty quickly. The ride was pleasant enough and quite roomy as I had the window seat with an empty seat next to me. It was great actually.

Before too long, we were landing at Changi Airport. I collected my things and stepped outside of the air-conditioned airport. I promise you that I almost melted into the pavement when the wall of heat assaulted me.

It’s true that I’d been living in New Zealand’s cooler climate for a while and that it’d been a long time since I had felt the warm Australian sun or my own Hawaiian heat, but the sweltering Singapore humidity just about did me in. It was nearly 8 p.m. and you could still physically feel the thick, mugginess of the saturated air.

The airport shuttle I reserved online was waiting for me at the curb, so I hopped in and we drove to my nearby hostel. On the way, the driver gave me some great sightseeing tips and food suggestions. I was looking forward to exploring Singapore for the next few days.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

1 Comment

Filed under Singapore, Transportation, Travel

One response to “Hello Singapore

  1. Aunty Sanj

    Wow, some great shots from the airplane!

Leave a Reply

