Paid Work at Crank Backpackers

Like Bob Dylan said, “times they are a’changin” and Charlyn and Radek are leaving New Zealand. They’re setting off on the next leg of their journey – South America – before finally touching back down in Europe. This means there are two positions opening up in reception. I decided to take Charlyn’s job overseeing the work-for-accommodation staff with the rest of my time at the front desk. Cris, from France, is taking over for Radek and has already started training.

My shift at reception will be from 7:30 a.m. to 10 a.m. and I’ll check out guests as well as help them with any activity bookings. At 10 a.m., the housekeepers and I will head upstairs to begin cleaning. Now I’ll primarily oversee their work and be in charge of doing all the laundry as it comes out of the rooms. I don’t know how I got this job as doing the laundry was one of the household tasks I disliked the most when I was at home. Oh well, I guess I’ll just go with the flow. After the housekeepers’ shift ends at noon, I continue with the laundry and cleaning projects that they were unable to complete. For the last hour or so, I head back to the reception with clean laundry to fold and continue assisting guests as needed.

I wasn’t sure if I wanted to stay in Rotorua for this long, but I think it’s a good way to save money. I will keep the waitressing job at Nuvolari, and hopefully the combined income will help to prolong my adventures. I’ll work more than 35 hours per week at the hostel and between 20-30 at the restaurant. I’ll work more hours than I used to at my full-time job back home and still won’t make anywhere near the same in wages, but it’ll be a wonderful experience for me. I may be dog-tired at the end of it and have no life throughout it all, but if it’ll let me travel an extra month or two, then so be it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Employment, New Zealand, Travel

Leave a Reply

