Rugby and Shots at Seismic Gastrobar

After work one night, a couple of my restaurant buddies and I went to Seismic Gastrobar in Rotorua to watch some rugby and have a drink. When we arrived, the atmosphere was high-energy with non-stop cheers and jeers. I gotta say that these Kiwis really get into their rugby. Having never been to a live match, I can only imagine what kind of shenanigans go on.

As the match progressed, one drink turned into a few shots of God knows what at this point. I do remember my shout was the tequila, but as for the other ones I can’t remember. For those of you who don’t speak Kiwi, a “shout” is when you buy your friends a round of whatever.

By the end of the match, I can honestly say I was feeling very giddy. I don’t think I’ve laughed so hard for a long time. I guess I might’ve been on my way to being drunk. Fortunately, I have a pretty high tolerance even though I don’t drink often. (It must be in the genes.) To the surprise of many, especially considering my age in life, I’ve never actually been wasted before. For starters, I don’t like the taste of alcohol and it’s insanely expensive in New Zealand (and Australia for that matter). But, who am I kidding? The real reason behind it is psychological. I hate not being in control, and as we all know, you don’t know squat once you get a bit tipsy.

Even after all those shots, I’m happy to say that I haven’t broken my streak of not being “all buss,” to use a local slang from back home. I was able to walk away on my own and perfectly straight too as I recall. All in all, this was a great night out with friends and an interesting way to see the locals in action.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, New Zealand, Nightlife, Travel

Leave a Reply

