Kiaora Japan Oishii

I had a craving for rice and decided to try Kiaora Japan. This was the first time I had Japanese food in New Zealand, and  it turned out really well. For $20, I got the shrimp tempura teishoku and a soda. The box set included miso soup, green salad, teriyaki chicken, rice and shrimp, fish and vegetable tempura.

First off, the rice tasted really good. I’m not sure if that’s due to the fact that I haven’t had real rice in so long, or if it was maybe the teriyaki sauce from the chicken that was making me want to scarf down the fluffy white stuff without stopping for breath. The teriyaki chicken was also good. The chicken pieces were moist and the sauce wasn’t overly sweet. The true joy of this meal though was the tempura. The panko they used to batter everything was light and flaky, just as tempura should be. It was amazing!

The restaurant’s décor is really cool and helps to bring Japan to New Zealand. There are beautiful kimonos and paintings on the wall. Small lanterns adorn the tables. Even the presentation of the food is artful and lovely. I can’t wait to come again!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 Comments

Filed under Food, New Zealand, Travel

4 responses to “Kiaora Japan Oishii

  1. Aunty Pat

    Mmmm, looks so ono! Torey and I went to a Japanese restaurant in Long Beach one night. Reminds me of that. However, the really ono Japanese food was in Kentucky. Yup, of all places!!

  2. Kris

    This is a nice place. Good ambiance, minimalist approach. Makes it very serene. Great value, nice find.

  3. Aunty Sanj

    Everytime we travel abroad, Uncle and I have to have at least one night where we have steamed rice, so we always head for a Japanese or Chinese restaurant. That’s why A. Pat said we had Japanese food in KY.

  4. I’ve gone months in Australia and New Zealand without rice, and it doesn’t really bother me. Maybe that’s why I’ve been losing weight?

Leave a Reply

