Road Trip Mania

Even though Lan visited for less than a week, the two of us managed to cover some major ground on our road trip. This can be attributed to our newly found love of the road. I guess we both haven’t had the chance to travel such long distances before. I mean, I can only drive around Oahu so many times before it gets old. And, I don’t even know if Lan’s ever driven around Oahu before.

But with such a short holiday and so much packed into this visit, we really got a move on and thoroughly enjoyed it. Every day we drove for hours and every night we stayed at a different hostel. Some might think this is too hectic and not a vacation at all. But we just took our time and enjoyed the ride.

After hitting many of the major tourist spots in the central part of the North Island, we headed to Northland for the day. Yes, it’s quite ridiculous to drive all that way just to see the Whangarei Waterfall and have lunch in Paihia, but it was the last day we had the car and the day before Lan left. So what the hell, right?

There’s just something about the freedom of the open road that calls to me. It’s not like I’m about to whip on some leathers and join a motorcycle gang, but there is something to feeling as though you have no attachments and can pick up and go at any time. Does this mean that I’m running away from something or is it actually running toward something else? Questions to ponder I suppose.

Leave a comment

Filed under New Zealand, Personal, Travel

Leave a comment