Discovering Te Papa

Today was a day completely devoted to the Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa. Te Papa came highly recommended by everyone who had been there, and it definitely didn’t disappoint me. It is open every day of the week and costs nothing but offers so much. With six floors of exhibits, this place is able to highlight so many subjects that you’re sure to find something to love.

One of my favorite parts of the museum was a special immigration exhibit that explores firsthand experiences from immigrants to New Zealand. The people came from all over the world and for many reasons, and the written and verbal accounts of their journeys was extremely moving.

I also enjoyed the sea life exhibit that featured a gigantic preserved squid. It was cool in a disgusting way with all the tentacles floating around in a liquid, but I’m one of those people who can watch Animal Planet and the Discovery Channel endlessly so it didn’t really bother me.

Even after spending five hours in the museum, I wasn’t able to see it all. I would’ve stayed longer had my stomach not been screaming for some food. This was a good sign that I was recovering from my cold so I decided to heed the call. I stopped at the grocery store on my way back to the hostel to pick up some things for dinner and spent the rest of the night doing laundry and watching movies in the comfort of my bed. Despite having such a mellow day in Wellington, today was a good day.

Leave a comment

Filed under Attraction, New Zealand, Travel

Leave a Reply

