Wellington – Part Deux

I’m back in Wellington again! This time I have a week to explore the city instead of just a few hours. One of my main goals is to finally kick this cold. I feel as though I’m getting better, but the germs are still lingering and they’ve got to go!

I decided to take it easy today by just having myself a bit of a wander around town. Shortly after leaving the YHA, I met a Chinese woman and had a great conversation with her. She asked where I was from and what I was doing here. She said she loved Wellington because you can get anywhere within the CBD on foot.

After learning that I had a background in marketing and was looking for a job, she offered to take me to some places that might be able to help me. We went to the Wellington public library and the citizen’s advice bureau to get a list of all the employment agencies in the city. We also dropped in at Volunteer New Zealand, an organization that matched up people with various volunteer opportunities. Though we weren’t successful in securing a job for me, I did have a good start on the job hunt and appreciated the time she took out of her day to help me.

The open attitude and kindness toward strangers might surprise you, especially if you’re from a large city, but here in New Zealand it is more the norm than the abnormal. Maybe this is because a lot of the country is agriculturally based and the idea of helping a neighbor out is part of the way of life? Maybe there is a binding unity among a people who live quite geographically isolated from others? Maybe they just breed them a lot more generous here? Whatever the reason, it’s just another example of how special New Zealand is.

1 Comment

Filed under Culture, Employment, New Zealand, Travel

One response to “Wellington – Part Deux

  1. A. Sanj

    How come you’re looking for a job in NZ? I thought you were planning to leave.

Leave a Reply

