Next Stop: Kaikoura

We got up early and left Rangitata behind us as we headed toward Kaikoura. The bus driver made great time getting to Christchurch, where some people hopped off to catch their planes home. This was also where Alba and I parted ways. We would meet up again in Wellington, but she would first travel on the Transalpine train back to Greymouth. I was supposed to go with her, but this lingering cold of mine forced me to change my plans. I decided to head straight for Wellington and spend the week relaxing and recovering.

When we arrived in Kaikoura, we took in a view of the city from atop a nearby hill. Kaikoura was just as beautiful and picturesque as it looked in photos. With the sun glimmering off the water on one side and the fields of green that stretched as far as you could see, Kaikoura was really a magical place.

I stayed at the YHA Kaikoura, which was a bit out of the main town but had an unobstructed view of the Kaikoura Mountains and the Pacific Ocean. I was also lucky enough to have an entire room to myself for once, and it was definitely amazing. The view out of my window looked upon the Kaikoura ranges and watching the sun set was breathtaking. All shades of orange, red, purple and pink washed across the water and mountains as the sun went down. It really made this place feel special.

After making myself a quick dinner of soup with pasta, I spent the rest of the day reading in the lounge and relaxing in my room. It was nice to be able to surround myself with quiet and tranquility, which I think Kaikoura enhances.

I wish I would’ve stayed longer, but I had plans to head to Wellington the next day. I got up early and caught the sunrise, which was just as pretty as the sunset the night before. I was excited to spend some time in Wellington exploring the city and hoped to finally rid myself of this nasty cold.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment

Filed under Accommodation, Attraction, Nature, New Zealand, Travel

Leave a Reply

