Invercargill’s Fastest Indian

Our next stop on our tour of the South Island was Invercargill and the Bluff, New Zealand’s southernmost point. When we arrived, we booked into Tuatara Backpackers. It seemed a little disorganized when we checked in but perhaps that worked in my favor. I ended up in a six-bed dorm with only Alba as a roommate. Other people were in four or six-bed dorms stuffed to the gills.

After getting settled, most of my busmates accompanied our driver to the Bluff. I wish I could’ve gone too since this would’ve rounded out my visits to both the northernmost and southernmost points in New Zealand. Unfortunately, I was still feeling under the weather and decided to check out the town before going to bed early again.

After getting a quick bite to eat at the southernmost McDonald’s in the country (at least I made it to this landmark), I took a walk around town through a small garden area. I also visited a hardware store where there were displays of motorcycles, including some of Burt Munro’s famous bikes.

Munro was a resident of Invercargill who set some land speed records in the 1950s and 1960s at the Bonneville Flats in Utah. A movie, The World’s Fastest Indian, starring Anthony Hopkins was made about his life. It’s a great movie, by the way, and I recommend you watch it if you haven’t. It was incredible to me to see the old bikes. I have no knowledge of motorcycles at all, but it was very cool that some of them were used in the movie.

After walking a bit to do some errands, one of which was to buy more cough medicine, my energy began to fail so I headed back to the hostel to rest up for tomorrow. After a bowlful of soup and a glass of orange juice later I was ready for a good night’s rest.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 Comments

Filed under Accommodation, Attraction, New Zealand, Travel

3 responses to “Invercargill’s Fastest Indian

  1. Kris

    Fastest Indian, that is funny. It is a iconic Brand. Wolverine in xmen origions rode one. Hope you feel better.

  2. hemajang

    oh yeah, Anthony Hopkins was great in The Fastest Indian. Somehow I thought Burt Munro was an Aussie. Did you review the movie in your film blog? You know Sky, I miss your movie blog. Maybe one day you can resurrect it.

  3. I also miss my movie blog. Being away from home – and Netflix – has made me realize that I’ve missed so many great movies. And yes, I did review The Fastest Indian – http://movieaddictsclub.blogspot.com/2010/04/worlds-fastest-indian.html – and may bring it back one day when all the traveling is done.

Leave a Reply

