Goodbye Australia

I can’t believe that today is my last day in Australia. In some ways I feel as though I just got here. In other ways I feel like I’ve been here forever. Reflecting back on all that I’ve seen and done during my time Down Under, it still amazes me that I was able to do so much.

Here are some of my most memorable moments:

1. Seeing the walls with names of all the fallen soldiers at the War Memorial in Canberra

2. Seeing many of Australia’s iconic animals in the wild

3. Visiting the Twelve Apostles at sunset

4. Sleeping around the campfire in a swag and watching all the stars in the sky

5. Driving through the Outback with nothing but land for miles and miles

6. Meeting people from all over the world, learning about their culture and making some new friends

7. Camping on Fraser Island with no showers or toilets

8. Sailing around the Whitsunday Islands

9. Finding a home away from home in Mission Beach

10. Snorkeling in the middle of the ocean on the Great Barrier Reef

Here are some of the things I’ve learned while traveling:

1. Never take the bottom bunk for granted. It’s a little acknowledged blessing.

2. You don’t need much clothes as long as you have comfortable shoes.

3. Buy and use a fly net or they’ll drive you crazy.

4. After a long day, you’ll eat just about anything and sleep just about anywhere.

5. Your measure of cleanliness works on a sliding scale.

6. If at all possible, book a female-only dorm because odds are they’ll probably stink just a little bit less (although that’s not a guarantee).

7. Modesty and hostels do not go hand in hand.

8. Pay more for the good, quick-drying towel.

9. Appreciate the simple things – like a bed that’s already made when you get there or a shower head with excellent water pressure.

10. Remember to enjoy the ride because – good or bad – it won’t last forever.

4 Comments

Filed under Australia, Personal, Travel

4 responses to “Goodbye Australia

  1. KT

    Does this mean you’re coming home… or going on to some place else? It can’t be a year already (can it?)!

  2. Naw, just means I’m starting a new adventure 🙂

  3. Aunty Diane

    I’m sad to lose an excellent travel log of the wonderful country of Australia but happy for you to move on to new adventures! Happy Traveling! aunty diane

  4. Thanks, I had a great time exploring Oz. Too bad I didn’t have enough time to visit Tasmania and the west coast during this trip.

Leave a Reply

