Eating Kangaroo, Camel and Buffalo

When we got back to The Mill, Jason cooked up some food on the barbecue, and I was happy to finally get some red meat with dinner. Most of our other meals were heavy on the vegetables, which I’m generally not a fan of but ate anyway. However, when I sat down at the table I noticed that people were not digging right in. They were carefully cutting the pieces of meat instead of shoveling it down as I had intended. That’s when I figured out we weren’t eating regular meat. We had kangaroo steaks, camel sausages and buffalo patties.

Traveling puts you into situations you’d never experience at home and pushes you to your physical, emotional and psychological limits. But, I think when you travel you become a different person than you are a home. You’re more open to try new things just to see how things work out.

So, with that in mind, I dug right into the kangaroo, which was apparently cooked medium rare to keep it soft and moist. At home, a medium rare steak is a no go because I don’t like seeing the red meat or having the meat bleed when I cut into it. Luckily, the lighting above us was bad so I couldn’t see either (or maybe the kangaroo meat doesn’t bleed as much as beef?). The kangaroo meat was very soft and chewy. It was really good and didn’t have as much fat as beef does. You could maybe compare it to eating veal?

Next, I dug into the camel sausages, which I found to have a slight kick to them. I’m not sure if this was due to the meat itself (is this what they mean when they say meat tastes gamey?) or if added flavors made the sausage spicier. In either case, I really liked them and they tasted different. Shaped like jelly beans, the sausages were curved and about three inches in diameter. Like the kangaroo, they seemed pretty lean because hardly any oil came out when I cut into them.

Lastly, I had the buffalo patties. They were about the size of a brown ‘n serve beef patty you’d eat for breakfast. They tasted good as well and seemed lean. I can’t pinpoint anything specific about what they tasted like, although they definitely didn’t taste like beef or pork. The patty texture was similar though.

It could be because I was meat-starved by the time we ate this or just starving in general, but the kangaroo, camel and buffalo all tasted really good. Maybe it’s because I’m a true carnivore at heart and any kind of meat is good meat?

9 Comments

Filed under Australia, Food, Travel

9 responses to “Eating Kangaroo, Camel and Buffalo

  1. Debbie Adams

    So glad to hear that you are expanding your tastebuds to accept new flavors. Continue to be open to trying new things. Remember Carpe deim “Seize the Day” Dorian.

  2. Diane Nakamichi

    Buffalo meat has been sold in our grocery stores for quite a few years and it’s claim is it’s leaner than cow meat. I have never tried it but perhaps I will now! I’m not a big meat eater. Glad to hear you are experiencing new things. I had horse meat in Spain once, but didn’t know it was until after we ate. I prefer to know ahead of time! Aunty Diane

  3. Aunty Suzanne

    What adventures you’re having! Foreign countries AND gastronomical delights! I’d have to have poor lighting, too, to try med rare meat. Moose is lean, too, w/o gaminess. Wonder if it tastes like kanga & camel meat? Keep those blogs going!

  4. hemajang

    yum. I could go for some of that! Did you try any indigenous Aborigine dishes as well? I know Kiawe Grill has buffalo, ostrich, and venison burgers on their menu. I never had any of them but maybe next time.

  5. Aunty Pat

    Tried cow tongue in Japan and they were the softest, tastiest meat I’ve ever eaten. Course, I didn’t know what it was until after I ate it. I’m with you, no blood meat for me. :0). Just love your blogs!!

  6. Big Brother

    Don’t recall seeing those items on the local Outback menu, but good for you for trying them. I can imagine Caitlin looking horrified if told what they were before eating them haha.

  7. Kirs

    Your adventures are totally cool, like Anthony Bourdain the “No Reservations” guy.

    Looks like you were in the high desert. Rocky terrain and hills are the norm. Good boots are a must. Too bad you did not see the waterfall, that is a bummer.

    Glad to see you are eating some exotic food and liked it. Always found the non-domesticated stuff a little gamey. Hunger makes everything taste good. What next, grubs and snake? Yummy.

  8. Unfortunately, the Aboriginal culture is still pretty unknown to me so I won’t be eating any of their traditional foods. It is not commercialized like the Hawaiian culture is at home. And, the parts that are explained to tourists all seem to be the same, even though tour guides stress that there are hundreds of different Aboriginal groups. The Aboriginal people don’t seem as integrated into society as I had expected. Many of them still live traditional lives away from Western civilization. I haven’t seen too many of them around in the cities I’ve visited.

  9. Pingback: Great Scots: Must-try Scottish Fare | Me, My Pack & I

Leave a Reply

