Free WiFi: An Endangered Species

Locating free WiFi in Australia is like searching for an endangered species. At all the hostels I’ve stayed at, they charge about AU$1 = 15 minutes. Now I’m at McDonald’s using their free internet and it’s actually pretty good. Thank god for McDonald’s!

Because of the internet difficulties and my upcoming travel schedule, which includes some nights camping out in the “bush,” there probably won’t be any more postings till mid-May when my tour is over.

I’ve seen and done so many things during the first six days of the tour, and I can’t wait to show you all. By the time the 21-day tour is over, I know I’ll have some great photos and wonderful experiences to relay. However, I think it’ll be pretty impossible (and extremely expensive) to upload all the photos and write as extensively as I want to at this point. So, you’ll just have to wait till I get back to Sydney to see what I’ve been up to.

Don’t worry – I’m doing fine and eating fairly well. You’ll all be proud to know that I’m actually eating many things on my “dislike” list, such as tomatoes, onions and bell peppers (or capsicum as they are known here). I suppose you can’t be choosey when it’s included in the tour and you’re half starved after a 12-hour day.

Hope everyone is doing well and had a wonderful Easter holiday. I’m looking forward to sharing more adventures with you in a couple of weeks. Stay tuned.

4 Comments

Filed under Australia, Technology, Travel

4 responses to “Free WiFi: An Endangered Species

  1. Aunty Pat

    I’m staying tuned. Keep well, D. Onions??? can’t eat that unless it’s the last food on earth. Maybe not even then.

  2. KT

    Good for you…eat your veggies! Very interesting about the politeness and blinkers; refreshing eh? You’ll just have to post some pics of the young kids’ hair. Hard to imagine. Enjoying your reports. Be safe in that camping situation!

  3. weeboopiper

    Ship stuff! If you get tired of land-based activities, you can sail on the JAMES CRAIG. Info here:

    http://www.shf.org.au/JCraig/JCraig.html

  4. I have now seen it all. In Coober Pedy, they were charging AU$4 for 15 minutes of internet!!

Leave a Reply

