Featherdale Wildlife Park

Australia is famous for its unique wildlife and seems to have an endless supply of zoos, parks and rescue centers all catering to the animals. I went to the Featherdale Wildlife Park in Doonside, New South Wales and spent half the day with all the critters.

One of the main attractions at this park is the enclosure where kangaroos, wallabies and emus roam free. The animals are very accustomed to people so visitors are able to pet and feed them. I think the feed is about $1 for one ice cream cone of food. The animals eat both the grass feed and the cone. What surprised me the most is that there is a sink with soap so you can wash up at after you’re done petting the animals. Most U.S. places wouldn’t install one. Also, as a side note, the bathrooms seemed very clean for a zoo-type facility.

There is also a more traditional petting zoo for domesticated animals with goats, sheep, rabbits, guinea pigs, a regular pig and some chickens. After visiting the kangaroo area, this one isn’t as exciting.

Other unique (to me but probably not other centers in Australia) animals at the wildlife park are koalas, Tasmanian devils, wombats, cassowaries and dingos. There are a ton of enclosures that feature birds of all kind, marsupials that I cannot name and snakes.

Throughout the day you can watch the wildlife keepers as they feed the animals. They put on short educational demos and tell you all you’d want to know about the animals. I watched one guy talk about fruit bats, dingoes, Tasmanian devils and echidnas. He was very informative and able to answer everyone’s questions.

The entrance fee to the park for adults is AU$25 and for children is AU$14. There are discounts if you’re a student, senior or family of two adults and two children. I noticed that this park is also included in a lot of the day trips out of Sydney, so it may be cheaper to do it that way.

I spent three hours wandering around the park and don’t think the tours would give you that long. If you’re an animal lover, you may want to do this trip independently so you don’t feel rushed. I’m not exactly sure how long it takes by public transport or which bus/train to take. Because this park is nearby, I didn’t need to take public transportation.

Overall, I think the park is worth a trip out of the city and offers good value, especially to visitors who have never really seen a lot of Australian wildlife. While the park is crowded at times (mostly surrounding the popular animals), there are plenty of areas that are less trafficked and benches where you can sit and watch the animals.

Slide Album: Featherdale
12 Comments

Filed under Attraction, Australia, Travel

12 responses to “Featherdale Wildlife Park

  1. Pooh

    Hi Dorian,
    Glad you made it to Sydney safe and sound. Love the pictures you took. Keep sending those beautiful pictures and maybe postcards too =) Have fun and G’Day mite!

  2. weeboopiper

    Love the wombat and the flying fox!

  3. @Pooh – It took me forever to do the slideshow. Couldn’t figure out how to do it in Flickr after I uploaded everything. It just wasn’t coming out. Then I had to sign up for Slide and my computer kept freezing when I tried to edit stuff. What a pain! Turned out ok in the end though.

    @weeboopiper – The flying foxes were definitely cute. Wish I could’ve held or pet one but the guy didn’t bring any of them out of their cage. I didn’t realize the wombats were so rolly polly.

  4. yvonne beale

    Hi Dorian,’Just had a message from KT telling me that you were in Australia.
    I live in Toowoomba, Queensland.
    I was a volunteer at HHS for many years,loved it.
    Would love to hear from you.
    Happy Easter.
    Aloha,
    Yvonne

  5. Hi Yvonne – Thanks for checking out my blog. I’ll email you separately.

  6. Pat O

    Hi Dorian,
    We went to many critter places while in Down Undah too. I really loved the wombats and the “devils” were a bit scary. Hope you’re having fun and being safe. Take care. pat

  7. @Pat – I like those little devils. They’re so tiny but fierce.

  8. Kirs

    Dorian,

    Yo! You got prety close to the animals. Glad to see you arrived safely down-under. Interesting pics. Keep the posts comming.

  9. KT

    Hi Dorian, I see from Googlemaps that you and Yvonne are 12 hours apart. Oh well! Maybe you’ll get over that way?? I couldn’t get the map to come up, only the text directions. Hmmm.

  10. KT

    P.S. Glad you were able to figure out how to load the photos. They are really good!

  11. Big Brother

    Nice animal pictures. I didn’t realize that dingo’s were like small wolves. I thought they looked more like Kona (basengi type dogs). I liked the picture comments…(had to smile at “Whooo are you”, I had CSI on tv in the background..too funny). Keep em coming.
    Stay safe!

  12. @Kris – yup, was able to get up close and they were pretty tame for being “wild” animals.

    @KT – emailed Yvonne and will probably be headed her way in late May or June. May be able to meet up. I hope so.

    @Bro – the dingos were smaller than I thought they were too.

Leave a Reply

