A Hui Hou Hawaii

A hui hou Hawaii . . . until we meet again. Tonight is my last night in the islands, and I just wanted to take this time to reflect on my life a bit.

In the week since I quit my full-time job, I’ve been busy packing up my life and getting things settled before I leave. It’s funny how transient one’s life really is when everything can fit into a bunch of boxes and garbage bags. 

Lately I find myself staring blankly at the extremely large backpack on the floor of my bedroom. Can my life really consist of a single bag of possessions?

Okay, truthfully I am not a great packer and have more than just one backpack. I also have a mini backpack and a purse – both equally stuffed – as carry-on luggage. However, in the scheme of things, most of my worldly goods are in a single backpack, and I can’t fully comprehend this even though I spent hours packing and unpacking, adding and subtracting pieces.

Still, whether I’m able to completely grasp the concept is a moot point. Tomorrow’s the big day. It’s the start of an adventure, and I won’t let the backpack dilemma overshadow its significance. Tomorrow is the start of something life changing and life reaffirming. It is the beginning of a dream being fulfilled.

A special thanks goes out to all of you who are reading this. You have all helped me get to this point whether you knew it or not. You’ve inspired me, motivated me, taught me and supported me. Without you, this trip of a lifetime probably wouldn’t be happening.

You’ve helped to shape me into a person who is open to new experiences and someone who is willing to do something to make those experiences a reality. You’ve helped me to see that standing on the sidelines is no way to live and a risk is only a risk because that is the way you perceive it.

And even though tonight is my last night in the islands, I know that no matter how far I go or how long I stay away, it will always be home because you (well, at least many of you) are here.

A hui hou Hawaii. Malama pono.

7 Comments

Filed under Hawaii, Personal, Travel

7 responses to “A Hui Hou Hawaii

  1. Chanin Saiki

    I wish you the very best on your journey. You are very brave Dorian! Very brave!

  2. Brie

    Take lots of pictures and savor every moment. I wish i could see the world also. Stay safe!

  3. Dustin

    Good luck and safe travels!

  4. Sandy Kajiwara

    Make sure you keep notes, so you can write a book when you get back.

  5. skycastles

    Thanks everyone!

  6. Big Brother

    Keep us posted and updated with everything. Can’t wait to see the pictures of places you’re going and people you meet. If you can, make it to France. I’ve always wanted to go there, since 3 years of French Class at Aiea H.S. Caitlin is already missing her Wii partner and Jan can’t stop talking about your trip. We’ll miss you but we’re all excited for you.

  7. Tell Jan and Caitlin thank you for the letters they wrote. I read them on the plane. Didn’t really get a chance to watch any of your movies as I dozed on and off, ate and read a book. It felt like a long flight but didn’t feel like 10 hours.

Leave a Reply

