Why Travel

Like many people, I’ve lived a somewhat boring and unremarkable life. In my youth, I must admit to following the crowd. I played by the rules and colored within the lines. I joined the band in junior high and played sports in high school. I took honors classes and earned good grades. For the most part, I didn’t give my parents too much to worry about. All in all, I was a good kid.

By the time I was in college, I was an expert at living this complacent existence. Of course, I didn’t know it then. However, something should’ve tipped me off when I couldn’t decide on a major. I wasn’t really passionate about anything particular and finally just settled on something I thought I’d be good at. It turned out that I was really good at certain aspects but was completely unsuited with others. Despite the mismatch, I pushed forward to graduate and get out into the workforce. I don’t even know what I expected to find there. Something more, obviously. But what?

After graduation, with two undergraduate degrees in hand, I set off like a good worker bee and got a job. I have since held a number of jobs and learned something new at each place of employment. But, after years of following this conventional path, life still seems incomplete to me. Yes, I am able to support myself while tucking a bit of money into my savings, 401(k) and Roth IRA accounts. Yes, I own my car outright and am working toward homeownership. Yes, with each new job I take on more responsibilities as I climb the proverbial ladder. So what’s the problem? 

Over the past few years I’ve come to realize that perhaps this life I’m living isn’t enough. I want more than what I’m getting and believe there’s more that I can give. Why live a half-fulfilled life when a fully realized life is within your grasp? This is why I travel.

2 Comments

Filed under Travel

2 responses to “Why Travel

  1. Pingback: Reuniting with Old Friends | Me, My Pack & I

  2. Pingback: The Long Way Home | Me, My Pack & I

Leave a Reply

